WhatCounts background blur
WhatCounts logo
WhatCounts
Master Your Email Marketing
3.4
(14)
by WhatCounts, Inc.
Why Findstack is free?
Findstack is free for users because vendors pay us when they receive web traffic and sales opportunities. Findstack directories list all vendors — not just those that pay us so that you can make the best-informed purchase decision possible.
Unclaimed: Are are working at WhatCounts?
Findstack offers objective, independent research and verified user reviews. We may earn a referral fee when you visit a vendor through our links. Learn more

WhatCounts Reviews & Product Details

WhatCounts Overview
What is WhatCounts?

WhatCounts is an email service provider backed by full-service technology and a full-service agency.  Their mission is to help businesses drive more revenue for companies they work with by leveraging our email experts and email marketing platform. WhatCounts also provides data management, software, and services to marketers seeking to deliver smart personalized digital messages to their target audiences.

Company WhatCounts, Inc.
Year founded 2000
Company size 51-200 employees
Headquarters Seattle, WA, USA
Social Media
WhatCounts Categories on Findstack
WhatCounts Product Details
Capabilities
API
Segment
Small Business
Enterprise
Deployment Cloud / SaaS / Web-Based
Support 24/7 (Live rep), Chat, Email/Help Desk, FAQs/Forum, Knowledge Base, Phone Support
Training Documentation
Languages English
WhatCounts Media
WhatCounts 0
WhatCounts 1
WhatCounts 2
WhatCounts 3
WhatCounts Screenshots
Disclaimer
Our research is curated from diverse authoritative sources and meant to offer general advice. We don’t guarantee that our suggestions will work best for each use-case, so consider your unique needs when choosing products and services. Feel free to share your feedback.
Last updated: May 25, 2024
WhatCounts logo
14 WhatCounts Reviews
3.4 out of 5
Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
Mar 16, 2016
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Sheri L. avatar
Sheri L.
Marrketing & Personal Assistant To President
Share
"My absolute favorite Email Service Provider a company that truly practices what they preach."
What do you like best about WhatCounts?

WhatCounts and Publicaster are extremely user friendly. I rarely have to bring in my own HTML files, I just design right in their easy to use templates. They go above and beyond to teach people how to properly use email as a marketing tool. The blogs they write, the website, the customer service team and their own emails are a perfect example of a company that has chosen a consistant "voice" and a "tone" to use in all of their media. As a marketer and email expert, I look to WhatCounts as a resource for information and as an example of a company that uses best practices. The list I use has over 2 million names on it and I have never had a problem -- not even once-- sending through the Publicaster System.

What do you dislike about WhatCounts?

I love everything about WhatCounts and Publicaster. I wouldn't change a thing. I even like the little fun facts they show you while you are waiting for the screen to change. Kudos on a job well done!

What problems is WhatCounts solving and how is that benefiting you?

When working with a list so large we worry about deliverability issues and getting blacklisted due to volume. WhatCounts was happy to work with me on a dedicated IP address and ramp-up plan to help with the transition. I couldn't have done it without the help of the customer service team.

Enterprise (> 1000 emp.)
Nov 04, 2017
 Source
Overall Rating:
3.0
Brian C. avatar
Brian C.
Independent Business Owner
Share
"Simple to use, good for new trainees"
What do you like best about WhatCounts?

You don't have to be an expert to build and deploy ad campaigns or email blasts. Very simple to use. If you have a new reporter making the jump to digital editor, this is ideal for them to use. It also gives you a simple way to connect to contests, making it easy to record and store data about new signups. Also works well with our social media

What do you dislike about WhatCounts?

The product is in the middle of an upgrade and can be unavailable at times. Once the upgrade is complete, the digital version should be back to normal

What problems is WhatCounts solving and how is that benefiting you?

Much better than our previous eblast partner, able to manage our subscriber base for eblasts, organize them and use whatcounts to send out tailored emails, specifically geared toward unique likes/dislikes of our readers

Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
Jun 24, 2016
 Source
Overall Rating:
2.5
Stacy J. avatar
Stacy J.
Director Of Marketing
Share
"A robust tool"
What do you like best about WhatCounts?

It's very robust...reporting is excellent.

What do you dislike about WhatCounts?

Not easy to master! The product is not intuitive.

What problems is WhatCounts solving and how is that benefiting you?

Email marketing issues...better A/B testing

Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
Mar 16, 2016
 Source
Overall Rating:
1.0
NS
Noah S.
Digital Editor
Share
"Not user friendly"
What do you like best about WhatCounts?

It has decent analytics and the ability to do A/B testing.

What do you dislike about WhatCounts?

We use this service to send out our e-mail alerts. It has all of the common benefits of your average e-mail blast provider -- analytics, a/b testing -- but many drawbacks as well. The interface is clunky and unintuitive. We frequently lose work because it crashes and doesn't have any auto-save mechanisms. The response time for support tickets is, to put it charitably, variable. It can't be used in multiple tabs. Last month they managed to get blacklisted by Google which meant our users were told they were getting malware. After one particularly egregious customer service failure I was contacted by a VP who promised to listen to how they could improve, but after a few rounds of phone tag he disappeared and hasn't replied to my subsequent emails.

What problems is WhatCounts solving and how is that benefiting you?

We use it to send out e-mails to paying subscribers.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Dec 05, 2017
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
AG
Verified Reviewer
Share
"Good for Monitoring"
What do you like best about WhatCounts?

The is good for managing email distribution and mailing lists.

What do you dislike about WhatCounts?

No free trail or mobile application available.

What problems is WhatCounts solving and how is that benefiting you?

I have been able to monitor open and clicks on email and ad distribution.

Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
Apr 27, 2016
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
AG
Verified Reviewer
Share
"WhatCounts review"
What do you like best about WhatCounts?

Flawlessly handles highly complex email marketing campaigns. Our account rep Amy is absolutely brilliant and irreplaceable. Conditional statements in emails work exactly as described. You can choose between WC's responsive email templates or it will allow client's use of their own customized templates - this has been a necessity, since some mobile operating systems and email clients have been temperamental during testing. API for updating lists is perfect for our needs.

What do you dislike about WhatCounts?

There is nothing I see as a negative about this product.

What problems is WhatCounts solving and how is that benefiting you?

we send about 60K emails each month. Increase in open and click through rates. Also consistent lead generation in difficult educational market.

Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
Nov 29, 2017
 Source
Overall Rating:
4.5
AG
Verified Reviewer
Share
"Easily customizable, deployment sometimes delayed"
What do you like best about WhatCounts?

I like the preview of each email newsletter. The thumbnails show a miniature version. Easy to download stats.

What do you dislike about WhatCounts?

The newsletter test and real emails sometimes lag for hours.

What problems is WhatCounts solving and how is that benefiting you?

Trying to solve lag issues and making it easier to search for data. Benefits include customizable newsletter templates and ease of communication.

Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
Mar 27, 2018
 Source
Overall Rating:
4.0
AG
Verified Reviewer
Share
"Email Marketing Software"
What do you like best about WhatCounts?

The Lifecycle Marketing feature as well as the drag and drop template editor make it great and easy to create emails and set automatic campaigns up.

What do you dislike about WhatCounts?

It seems as if they are sometimes features behind other companies.

What problems is WhatCounts solving and how is that benefiting you?

The ability to save time by using lifecycle marketing and creating automatic rules to deploy emails.

Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
Dec 14, 2017
 Source
Overall Rating:
4.0
AG
Verified Reviewer
Share
"Great tool for email marketing beginner"
What do you like best about WhatCounts?

Pretty easy to work with. Easy to create segments.

What do you dislike about WhatCounts?

You can only do so much in regards to the actual email creative. Can't get too fancy.

What problems is WhatCounts solving and how is that benefiting you?

I was able to precisely target those who were interested in our products, based on open rate, click through rate, etc.

Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
Feb 19, 2018
 Source
Overall Rating:
3.5
AG
Verified Reviewer
Share
"Functions well for designers, but could be improved"
What do you like best about WhatCounts?

The HTML preview and ability to edit directly to the preview is helpful.

What do you dislike about WhatCounts?

The search function is very particular, and the HTML text area could have more features.

What problems is WhatCounts solving and how is that benefiting you?

Organization of content is generally the greatest benefit that I have experienced.

Enterprise (> 1000 emp.)
Jun 07, 2017
 Source
Overall Rating:
3.0
AG
Verified Reviewer
Share
"Appliance is the way to go for low-cost ESP"
What do you like best about WhatCounts?

Most of the features of upper-tier ESPs at a fraction of the price.

What do you dislike about WhatCounts?

A lot more self-case and feeding than a hosted ESP. Cost is a bargain, but support and feature set definitely suffer from being low-cost alternative.

What problems is WhatCounts solving and how is that benefiting you?

Email newsletter and bulk sending engine for high volumes and multiple brands.

Enterprise (> 1000 emp.)
Jan 23, 2017
 Source
Overall Rating:
3.0
AG
Verified Reviewer
Share
"Marketing Analyst"
What do you like best about WhatCounts?

Easy to use platform and navigation.

What do you dislike about WhatCounts?

Wasn't as robust when it came to reporting, create campaigns and segmentation.

What problems is WhatCounts solving and how is that benefiting you?

Creating a data pool of contacts and the products or services that they are currently using or have used.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Nov 08, 2017
 Source
Overall Rating:
2.5
AG
Verified Reviewer
Share
"Crowd Review"
What do you like best about WhatCounts?

The product is easy to use and it works with other platfoms

What do you dislike about WhatCounts?

Would like more tutorials about the product

What problems is WhatCounts solving and how is that benefiting you?

Organizational problems.

Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
Jan 10, 2018
 Source
Overall Rating:
1.5
AG
Verified Reviewer
Share
"WhatCounts Not Great Email Marketing Solution"
What do you like best about WhatCounts?

Has a wide variety of targeting and segmenting abilities.

What do you dislike about WhatCounts?

Not intuitive at all. Way over thought: takes many clicks to do simple tasks. Seems to use general email terms incorrectly so difficult to find what you are looking for. Expensive.

What problems is WhatCounts solving and how is that benefiting you?

Marketing to opt in list. No benefits realized, only costs.