WordPress.org background blur
WordPress.org Logo
WordPress.org
4.4
(8,637)
Why Findstack is free?
Findstack is free for users because vendors pay us when they receive web traffic and sales opportunities. Findstack directories list all vendors — not just those that pay us so that you can make the best-informed purchase decision possible.
Findstack offers objective and comprehensive comparisons to help you find the best software. We may earn a referral fee when you visit a vendor through our links. Learn more

WordPress.org Reviews & Product Details

WordPress.org Overview
What is WordPress.org?

WordPress is arguably the most popular open-source, cloud-based content management system based on PHP and MySQL designed to help small to large businesses create, manage and publish content for websites. The customizable solution allows enterprises to use plugins, widgets, and themes to simplify web creation and design. Top features allow users to upload and store multimedia content, auto-save progress, and restore critical data.

Company Automattic
Year founded 2005
Company size 1001-5000 employees
Headquarters Remote
Social Media
Managed by:
Axel Grubba
Founder
WordPress.org Categories on Findstack
Ask Questions about WordPress.org
What WordPress.org is best for?
How does WordPress.org compare to HubSpot CMS Hub?
What are the pros and cons of WordPress.org?
WordPress.org Product Details
Capabilities
API
CLI
OSS
Segment
Small Business
Mid Market
Enterprise
Deployment Cloud / SaaS / Web-Based, Desktop Linux, Desktop Mac, Desktop Windows, On-Premise Linux, On-Premise Windows
Support 24/7 (Live rep), Chat, Email/Help Desk, FAQs/Forum, Knowledge Base, Phone Support
Training Documentation
Languages English
WordPress.org Pros and Cons
Pros
  • WordPress.org is free!
  • There are thousands of themes, plugins, and widgets to choose from
  • You have complete control over the functionality and aesthetic of your website. 
  • There’s an active community with plenty of self-help guides and documentation available online.
  • WordPress.org boasts powerful blogging features and SEO functionality.
Cons
  • At least with older versions of WordPress, the design editor comes with a steeper learning curve.
  • With any open-source software, you need to find your own hosting, which can seem daunting at first if you’re new to website creation. 
WordPress.org Awards
Findstack 2024 General Badge
WordPress.org Features
API Access
Asset Management
Collaboration Tools
Content Analytics
Content Archiving
Content Migration
Content Personalization
Content Preview
Content Scheduling
Customer Support
Customizable Templates
Drag and Drop Interface
E-Commerce Integration
Form Builder
GDPR Compliance
Inline Editing
Media Library
Mobile Editing
Multilingual Support
Plugins and Extensions
Responsive Design
SEO Management
Search Functionality
Social Media Integration
Tagging and Categorization
Template Management
User Roles and Permissions
Version Control
WYSIWYG Editor
Workflow Management
WordPress.org Media
WordPress.org 0
WordPress.org 1
WordPress.org 2
WordPress.org 3
WordPress.org Screenshots
Disclaimer
Our research is curated from diverse authoritative sources and meant to offer general advice. We don’t guarantee that our suggestions will work best for each use-case, so consider your unique needs when choosing products and services. Feel free to share your feedback.
Last updated: July 24, 2024
WordPress.org Logo
8,637 WordPress.org Reviews
4.4 out of 5
Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jul 28, 2017
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Florian M. avatar
Florian M.
Gérant
Share
"very flexible and versatile tool"
What do you like best about WordPress.org?

Wordpress can be as simple or as complexe as you want. It adapts to your needs, the most simples to the most complexes

What do you dislike about WordPress.org?

Too many updates make WP a littly bit time consuming to maintain on a professional level.

What problems is WordPress.org solving and how is that benefiting you?

Websites for customers

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jul 28, 2017
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
JD
Julie D.
Director Of Business Development
Share
"No code experience required!"
What do you like best about WordPress.org?

WordPress is very user-friendly. I don't need to know anything about html coding to update our company's website with relevant content. User interface is easy to navigate and fairly intuitive. I can even make updates from my mobile phone. Password-protected page feature is great for allowing access to certain content (i.e., customer log-in pages). I also use WordPress to manage my personal blog site after having such a good experience with it at work. Love that it is web-based and can be accessed from anywhere.

What do you dislike about WordPress.org?

Plug-in options can be overwhelming. Too many plug-ins from third-parties offer little to no additional functionality (just a change to the user interface). Sidebar menu could be a bit easier to navigate (add hover over text, etc.). I sometimes have to hunt for a feature in various areas before I find it (such as updating menu bars, sidebars, and the like).

What problems is WordPress.org solving and how is that benefiting you?

We use WordPress to manage our company's website. We hired a company to design the "look and feel" of our site and they have since handed the content management over to me. With WordPress, I find it very easy to update pages, create new ones, change menus, add photo galleries, etc. With minimal time and effort, I've learned to quickly navigate WordPress. It's a huge time-saver for someone like me with no coding experience.

Enterprise (> 1000 emp.)
Jul 28, 2017
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
EG
Emily G.
Global Response And Intelligence Center Officer
Share
"Easy to Use Blogging Site"
What do you like best about WordPress.org?

The interface is easy to use, update, and post from anywhere in the world.

What do you dislike about WordPress.org?

Some of the formatting can be a bit boring or generic and can sometimes look cheap.

What problems is WordPress.org solving and how is that benefiting you?

Establishing an online presence and persona for a media company. The benefits are utilizing wordpress to see how it works for larger projects and being able to track other individuals' blogs and comments.

Enterprise (> 1000 emp.)
Jul 28, 2017
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
JG
Jessica G.
Sr. Administrative Processor
Share
"Excellent experience "
What do you like best about WordPress.org?

That it was so easy to navigate. I had more control over my own content and how it looked.

What do you dislike about WordPress.org?

No complaints so far. Everything has been great.

What problems is WordPress.org solving and how is that benefiting you?

I feel like I have more control over the content I want to share

Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
Jul 28, 2017
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
DD
David D.
Freelance Web Designer And Developer
Share
"Simple and powerful. "
What do you like best about WordPress.org?

Easy installation, easy to organize posts and categories. Plenty of free plug-ins, and if you need it for e-commerce, you can use woo commerce.

What do you dislike about WordPress.org?

The only draw back is that if your site is very big, then it won't accommodate very well. There is a breaking point.

What problems is WordPress.org solving and how is that benefiting you?

Simple blog and recipe blog. It's easier to keep the e-commerce platform and blog separate. WordPress is easy to manage.

Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
Jul 28, 2017
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
SS
Shelia S.
Homemaker
Share
"Features galore "
What do you like best about WordPress.org?

ability to upload themes and plugins, and complete control if your more technically inclined, and the overall community is wonderful.

What do you dislike about WordPress.org?

Requires a more expensive web host, requires a good amount of technical knowledge to do simple setup, and your responsible for stopping spam

What problems is WordPress.org solving and how is that benefiting you?

We are able to advertise more

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jul 28, 2017
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
JP
Janelle P.
Senior Communications Coordinator
Share
"Perfect tool for posting content (non-profit)"
What do you like best about WordPress.org?

The easy and also the range of tools. Training on the tool is also very straight forward, and we were able to sync with CoSchedule beautifully, making WP the perfect tool for us. Even add in SEO properties, sort by categories, etc. We have a large audience, and yet this simple tool is the perfect thing.

What do you dislike about WordPress.org?

Sometimes the formatting can get a bit confusing, but I do not have extensive experience with coding or with WP. I also would wish to be able to add in new categories at a moment's notice, as opposed to just select from the permanent ones on the sidebar (although that may mess with back-end things, so I totally understand why.)

What problems is WordPress.org solving and how is that benefiting you?

Posting content in-house onto our website (that gets shared on social media).

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jul 28, 2017
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
AH
Allison H.
Executive Assistant To Chief Executive Officer
Share
"User friendly and gets the job done"
What do you like best about WordPress.org?

Wordpress is the best way to customize your website.

What do you dislike about WordPress.org?

Some of the plugins are finicky, but overall the experience is great.

What problems is WordPress.org solving and how is that benefiting you?

None currently.

Enterprise (> 1000 emp.)
Jul 27, 2017
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
BD
Benoit D.
Chef Du Pôle Web
Share
"Satisfied wordpress user since 2004"
What do you like best about WordPress.org?

Wordpress is a very good framework for website with a communication purpose. If several contributors have to manage content learning wordpress is very simple.

What do you dislike about WordPress.org?

There is an enormous catalog of plugins and themes. You have to pay attention of the quality when you chose plugins and themes for the maintenance and security of your website.

What problems is WordPress.org solving and how is that benefiting you?

Corporate website, intranet website.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jul 27, 2017
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
VA
Veonne A.
Founder / Publisher
Share
"Wordpress rocks"
What do you like best about WordPress.org?

Is easy to use And is a great platform for professionals

What do you dislike about WordPress.org?

It took me a while to understand it. It's hard understanding how to change small things since I am not a pro at coding

What problems is WordPress.org solving and how is that benefiting you?

I guess I'm learning the small details of CSS

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jul 27, 2017
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Larissa N. avatar
Larissa N.
Front End Web Developer
Share
"Easy and Flexible "
What do you like best about WordPress.org?

The best part of Wordpress is the flexibility and resources out there for you to use. You really can build any site you want with whatever skill level you have.

What do you dislike about WordPress.org?

The pro is also a con because there are so many resources out there you'll run into a lot of bad add-ons or templates that are difficult to use. As long as you research what add-ons are best and what templates fit your needs you should be fine.

What problems is WordPress.org solving and how is that benefiting you?

Wordpress's CMS is super easy to use. So when other people who aren't developers use it, it's easy to pick up.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jul 27, 2017
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Steven M. avatar
Steven M.
Driver Partner
Share
"Wordpress"
What do you like best about WordPress.org?

I love the ease of use for writing and the ease of the customizer tool.

What do you dislike about WordPress.org?

PHP is a very hard to decipher when one doesn't have a firm grip on HTML/CSS

What problems is WordPress.org solving and how is that benefiting you?

I'm developing websites and have realized that some themes are more customizable than others.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jul 27, 2017
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
SC
Samantha C.
Receptionist
Share
"A program for everyone "
What do you like best about WordPress.org?

What I like about Wordpress is that I could use it knowing nothing about templates and blogs. There are programs for everyone. You can look at an example and see what your website will look like. If you're a little better with computers and codes you can completely design your own website using Wordpress.

What do you dislike about WordPress.org?

It's hard to think of something I don't like about Wordpress. I would guess I like to see an update on the app

What problems is WordPress.org solving and how is that benefiting you?

I can see the traffic of the website and any updates that work or don't work by watching the daily traffic

Enterprise (> 1000 emp.)
Jul 27, 2017
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Mark E. avatar
Mark E.
Intellectual Property Law Clerk
Share
"Make a website easily!"
What do you like best about WordPress.org?

Wordpress is simple to make a website with, I highly suggest it

What do you dislike about WordPress.org?

The pricing models are a bit confusing and don't always let you put the right settings in place

What problems is WordPress.org solving and how is that benefiting you?

I wanted to add some embedded videos and realized I had to pay more money for that.

Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
Jul 27, 2017
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
KS
Kharismawan S.
Active Member
Share
"i use wordpress simply because its has easy user interface and less coding"
What do you like best about WordPress.org?

lot of plugins and offer lot of templates so we can choose what we want. and wordpress has less coding work to do when you build a website. and we can maintain wordpress as a team, so i can add other user as a maintenance, not a user!. Wordpress themes also inexpensive we can buy any of them now in lot of websites themes seller. wordpress design is better then my design when using manual code editor. it takes lot of time to build nice design website, but with wordpress you can make it as easy as you click the themes and voila! you got a new cool design website for your own. Wordpress Dashboard is easy user interface, so we can easy maintain our website.

What do you dislike about WordPress.org?

i dont like the speed! sometimes it runs slower than other webpage. it need times to open page, loading so long we have to wait!. Mostly a lot of plugins crash when update to the latest wordpress. but The SECURITY is sucks! i've hacked lot of times when i use wordpress for my website, and very confusing to recovery my website after it got hacked.

What problems is WordPress.org solving and how is that benefiting you?

my company website, the benefits are i can create our website quick, no need to coding, less time! by the way i've made -+ 11 websites use wordpress and its good

Visit website