PG Vector background blur
PG Vector logo
PG Vector
3.8
(12)
Why Findstack is free?
Findstack is free for users because vendors pay us when they receive web traffic and sales opportunities. Findstack directories list all vendors — not just those that pay us so that you can make the best-informed purchase decision possible.
Unclaimed: Are are working at PG Vector?

PG Vector Reviews & Product Details

PG Vector Overview
What is PG Vector?

PG Vector is an extension for PostgreSQL designed to efficiently handle vector data within the database. It optimizes the storage, indexing, and searching of high-dimensional vectors, facilitating fast and scalable similarity searches, often used in applications like recommendation systems, image retrieval, and machine learning models.

PG Vector Categories on Findstack
PG Vector Product Details
Capabilities
CLI
OSS
Segment
Small Business
Mid Market
Freelancer
Enterprise
Deployment Cloud / SaaS / Web-Based, Desktop Mac, Desktop Windows, On-Premise Linux
Support FAQs/Forum, Knowledge Base
Training Documentation
Languages English
Disclaimer
Our research is curated from diverse authoritative sources and meant to offer general advice. We don’t guarantee that our suggestions will work best for each use-case, so consider your unique needs when choosing products and services. Feel free to share your feedback.
Last updated: April 16, 2024
PG Vector logo
12 PG Vector Reviews
3.8 out of 5
Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
Jan 16, 2024
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Nishant M. avatar
Nishant M.
Share
"SQL- PG vector"
What do you like best about PG Vector?
It helps me to store and quearying the SQL. The implemention of PG vector is perfect, means the UI and the it is easy to use.It has number of feature andd so many people frequently use this software for SQl storing and for vector search. the integration use the AI to manage the data and so more. In this the support is good and the vector extension for sql is the best.
What do you dislike about PG Vector?
some time it is taking time for result to shown up but it is okay.
What problems is PG Vector solving and how is that benefiting you?
It helps me to store the SQL data and querying vectors, It is also use the AI which is so good.
Enterprise (> 1000 emp.)
Oct 18, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
DN
Dhananjay N.
Share
"PG Vector: Pioneering Innovation in Vector Technologies"
What do you like best about PG Vector?
PG vectors excels in cutting edge technologies, revolutionizing industries. With robust solutions PG Vector empowers industries to reach new heights.
What do you dislike about PG Vector?
Downsides could includes issues related to pricing or customer services.
What problems is PG Vector solving and how is that benefiting you?
The biggest benefits of PG vector that it addresses complex data challenges by providing efficient storage and retrieval solutions, streamlining processes, and enhancing data processing capabilities.
Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jul 06, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
4.5
Kartik s. avatar
Kartik S.
Digital Marketer
Share
"A Powerful Tool For Storing and searching Embeddings in PostgreSQL"
What do you like best about PG Vector?
PG vector is used to recommended pruducts to users based on theirs past purchases or interests. it is used to analyze the sentiment of text. and it is very particularly useful for applications involving vector similarity search, such as those build on top of GPT models
What do you dislike about PG Vector?
PG vector is still under development and it is not yet production ready, thats why there are many bugs or performance issues that affecting the stability. PG vector is only compatible with certain versions of postgreSQL. But i have older version of PostgreSQL so it is not compatible .
What problems is PG Vector solving and how is that benefiting you?
Storing and searching embeddings in PostgreSQL it allows me to store and search embeddings in PostgreSQL. this is help me to improve the proformance of natural language. i was Using PG vector to improve the performance of a chatbot that i use to answer customer questions.
Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Dec 19, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
4.0
Sangeetha k. avatar
Sangeetha K.
Digital Marketing Associate
Share
"PG Vector: Game-Changing Embeddings for PostgreSQL"
What do you like best about PG Vector?
PG Vector seamlessly embeds machine learning into PostgreSQL It allows me to unlock powerful semantic search without breaking my existing data stack.
What do you dislike about PG Vector?
For users unfamiliar with ML, understanding and utilizing embeddings effectively might require initial effort.
What problems is PG Vector solving and how is that benefiting you?
I was constantly frustrated by the limitations of traditional search for my projects. Fuzzy matching wouldn't cut it, and integrating dedicated search engines felt like a messy detour. After PG Vector my PostgreSQL database became a powerful hub for semantic search and insightful recommendations.
Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
Aug 15, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
4.0
HK
Hari K.
Senior Principle Engineer
Share
"Open-Source Vector Extension"
What do you like best about PG Vector?
it is a PostgreSQL vector extension that enables rapid similarity searches, flexible indexing, ease of use, and open-source licensing, making it an excellent candidate for various applications.
What do you dislike about PG Vector?
It is currently in progress and can be challenging to set up.
What problems is PG Vector solving and how is that benefiting you?
Vector data can be stored and indexed in PostgreSQL databases. This allows for efficient similarity searches on vector data.
Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Sep 30, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
3.5
Miguel Ángel C. avatar
Miguel ángel C.
Programador Full Stack
Share
"PGVector: Ampliando las Capacidades de PostgreSQL"
What do you like best about PG Vector?
Lo mejor de PGVector, desde mi punto de vista, es que hace que sea fácil encontrar cosas similares en grandes cantidades de datos. Esto es útil para analizar información y tomar decisiones basadas en similitudes. Simplifica la búsqueda y hace que los resultados sean más precisos.
What do you dislike about PG Vector?
Lo que menos me gusta de PGVector es que puede ser complicado de configurar correctamente al principio, lo que podría ser un obstáculo si se intenta escalar a conjuntos de datos más grandes. Además, a medida que los datos se vuelven más complejos, ajustar PGVector para obtener resultados precisos puede llevar más tiempo y recursos, lo que podría dificultar su uso en situaciones donde se necesita crecer rápidamente sin tener un conocimiento técnico profundo.
What problems is PG Vector solving and how is that benefiting you?
PGVector resuelve problemas al permitir la búsqueda precisa por similitud de vectores en grandes conjuntos de datos. Ahora bien, si bien esto me ha beneficiado en la precisión y ahorro de tiempo en las tareas de procesamiento de datos, es importante mencionar que a medida que estos crecen y se vuelven más complejos, la configuración y el ajuste de PGVector pueden requerir más recursos y conocimiento técnico.
Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
Sep 28, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
3.0
Neenu P. avatar
Neenu P.
Project Associate
Share
"Not for me..!"
What do you like best about PG Vector?
The only thing that I felt good about PG Vector it has a number of features that can aid in similarity searches between available vectors. The customer service is also good.
What do you dislike about PG Vector?
The installation of PG Vector is so cumbersome, not user friendly as well. The installation require you to run a set of codes and on Windows, it is mandatory to have C++ pre-installed. The integration is so difficult that makes it less frquently used.
What problems is PG Vector solving and how is that benefiting you?
With PG Vector, it is easier to found similar vectors within the huge database they have. This was tiresome work earlier. Making all the possible vectors in one place makes it a good vector searches.
Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
Dec 21, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
2.5
CB
Christopher B.
Organizational Economist
Share
"Making Worst Data Analysis and Decision Making"
What do you like best about PG Vector?
It needs to be robust when dealing with datasets. It require some setup effort but properly configured it delivers inaccurate results. Even though handling data demand time and resources it does not worth it, for those who need scalability without extensive technical expertise.
What do you dislike about PG Vector?
PG Vector proves to be a poor tool for managing and analyzing data. PG Vector provides solutions for storing and retrieving data the setup process resource intensive and demands specific knowledge. As datasets become larger and more intricate, configuring the system become burdensome.
What problems is PG Vector solving and how is that benefiting you?
PG Vector is unable to solve the issue of vector support in open source databases. By leveraging this extension we are unable to manipulate vector data, resulting in increased performance for our business applications.
Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
Dec 15, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
2.5
JC
Justin C.
Surveyor
Share
"Complicating Data Analysis and Decision Making"
What do you like best about PG Vector?
There is no scalability potential for PG Vector. Initially configuring it is difficult once it is properly set up it handles datasets. Adapting PG Vector, for data requires additional time and resources it proves to be a poor tool for rapid business expansion needing extensive technical expertise.
What do you dislike about PG Vector?
There are drawbacks that needs to be improved. As data difficulty increases, configuring and adjusting PG Vector demands resources and expertise. This poses problems for users who arent well versed in advanced database management techniques.
What problems is PG Vector solving and how is that benefiting you?
Despite the processes provided by PG Vector searching for vectors within large datasets is still time consuming. It is unable to solve difficult data challenges making it a cumbersome asset. PG Vector does not solve the issue of functionality, in vector extensions.
Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Oct 02, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
4.0
AG
Verified Reviewer
Share
"Best extension out there for PostgresSQL"
What do you like best about PG Vector?
The ease of use and ease of implementation is the strongest suit of PH Vector. The number of features and frequency of use of these features are very high
What do you dislike about PG Vector?
I would suggest to do a bit better on customer support is where I see a room for improvement
What problems is PG Vector solving and how is that benefiting you?
The DB extension PG Vector is solving the complexity of DB management in my application
Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
Oct 02, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
4.0
AG
Verified Reviewer
Share
"Exploring the power of PG Vector: Open source Vector extension"
What do you like best about PG Vector?
Simplicity and ease of access! PG vector enhances PostgreSQL with vector capabilities, a valuable open-source addition
What do you dislike about PG Vector?
Learning curve, compatibility, resource usage , documentation, and maintenance are major disappointment.
What problems is PG Vector solving and how is that benefiting you?
Pg Vector optimizies spatial queries, helping us quickly to find the nearest location in our scenario of efficient delivery locations It enables precise distance calculations ensuring accurate deliver time estimates.
Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Dec 10, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
3.5
AG
Verified Reviewer
Share
"Reviewing PG Vector: Great but not for everyone!"
What do you like best about PG Vector?
Helps in searching for the exact and approximate nearest neighbors, L2 distance, inner product distance, and cosine distance for each language that has a Postgres client. Easy to setup and integrate.
What do you dislike about PG Vector?
Still not stable when it comes to a lot of new features being added in 5.0
What problems is PG Vector solving and how is that benefiting you?
Helps in supporting vectors along with the rest of the data all binded together making it easier for users to work with complex vector databases